My New Year’s Resolutions

28 Sep

Who says we can’t have New Year’s Resolution as early as now? ^_^ If radio stations have the right to play Christmas songs starting September 1, I can also start my New Year’s Resolution this early don’t you think?

My husband and I are attending a Bible course in church. Our lesson now is Personal Development. The course talked about Spiritual, Mental, Physical, Emotional and Relational Development. For our homework, we are supposed to identify our present condition and how we plan to improve in these areas.

Here are my answers:

Areas for Development   My Present Condition   Action Plans to take
         
SPIRITUAL   I usually have a lot of housework on weekends and couldn’t have some time alone with God.   I will start my day meditating on God’s Word before I get entangled with the day’s work.
         
PHYSICAL   I work in front of the computer 8 hours a day making physical activity limited.   I will exercise for 10 minutes in the morning before going to work 5x a week.
         
MENTAL   I read and watch a lot of things without being vigilant on their content.   I will be more aware and guard myself from reading and watching things that doesn’t help me grow in faith. I will read more Christian books and visit blogs with godly content everyday.
         
EMOTIONAL   I am highly sensitive and emotional.   I will listen to facts more and not dwell too much on my emotion. I will memorize verses that will help me fight these negative feelings.
         
RELATIONAL
(Influence)
  I have the tendency to be too sensitive and express myself in words that are not pleasing to God.   I will control my emotion better by consistent prayer. I will not say anything when I am at the peak of my emotion. Rather, I would pray at that moment quietly for the Lord to help me manage the situation and not lose control.

 

As I publicly share these, I hold myself accountable in doing all the items I wrote here as best as I can with the help of the Holy Spirit!

Are there actions you need to take to better take care of your body, mind and soul? What are they? What is your present condition and how do you plan to develop spiritually, emotionally, mentally, physically and relationally?

3 Responses to “My New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. TheShoppingGirl October 1, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    This is such a great post. I totally agree that we shouldn’t wait until January to start working on ourselves. Maybe an October start will be more successful since January is always a challenge anyway!

    I’m going to go make a copy of your worksheet and fill it out for myself. I’m definitely in a place of re-evaluation. Thanks!

    Stopping in from SITS!

    • viviene October 1, 2010 at 8:08 am #

      Hi SITStah! Thank you for dropping by! ^_^ Yes, right! Today is always the best time to start changing for the better =)
      (btw, your link appears broken. i dont know why. i couldnt access your site)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog review in 2010 « Journey of a Woman - January 8, 2011

    […] My New Year’s Resolutions September 2010 2 comments 4 […]

I'd love to hear from you! =D Go leave some love. Leave some comments....