Obedience pays (How sweet!)

21 Sep

There are so many times I have proved that obedience do pay! I remember a specific instance a month ago when Bert (my husband) and I had a minor misunderstanding. He was already asking for forgiveness but I still wouldn’t talk to him. The Lord was already telling me what to do, kiss and make up. My heart was unbending. I let time pass until I finally realized I had to start talking to him. I hugged and kissed him. A few minutes after, I told him I couldn’t sleep coz it was too noisy and said I would go out and sleep in the sofa. He didn’t agree and said he would instead take the bed out and we would both sleep outside in the living room. How sweet! =) If we were still not in good terms then, I wouldn’t have been able to sleep the entire night!

Days ago, I was in heaven and was totally ecstatic! Then some people (well, just 2 people) responded with sarcasm. I was deeply hurt for the next 2 days. I was crying out to God and asked for His protection. I was beginning to get angry. The Lord moved me to talk to a trusted friend about what I feel. She prayed for me and gave me counsel. I was totally relieved! Obedience pays! I felt more in tuned with God. When I went back to work, I saw a slice of chocolate cake in my desk from my boss whom I did a favor to that morning. How sweet! =) I love chocolate cakes! God didn’t only make my heart feel good. He made sure I become absolutely happy through my favorite dessert. It didn’t end there. Another friend (actually, my husband’s barkada who is now my friend) sent an encouraging message that disproved these people’s hurtful remarks. How sweet! =)

This verse gave me complete encouragement that morning: The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still. Notice the last few words: you need to be still. If I had fought back and gave hurtful remarks too, I would just further the issue.

I’m glad I obeyed.

Is God telling you to do something today? Will you obey? Do you agree that God rewards obedience? Do you have a story to tell? Share it to us! =)

4 Responses to “Obedience pays (How sweet!)”

  1. Razel Estrella September 24, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Wow, your boss is so sweet and kind. I wish I had a boss like her.

    But you’re pretty sweet, too, for letting the world know about the people who make you feel happy. (^^,)

    P.S. Trust that the cake being a chocolate cake is not coincidental. Hee hee.

    • viviene September 24, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

      oh yes! i have a sweet and pretty boss! ^ ^

  2. jamiethedreamer September 30, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    Oh no. I am rarely obedient.

    I only seem so to most because we share the same values. How do I work it out, then?

    • viviene September 30, 2010 at 10:05 am #

      haha.. oh well… obedience pays! just think of that everytime you refuse to obey! =p

      …and thanks for dropping by!

I'd love to hear from you! =D Go leave some love. Leave some comments....